CL flowers get well2

This post is about my cancer diagnosis and how to make the best toasted marshmallows and buttermilk pancakes. I’ve posted quietly about my cancer diagnosis on my FB wall, and have put off posting it here, which I use exclusively for my fiction. I don’t talk much about my personal life. I would have posted sooner but I’ve been busy with edits, getting Jack ready for publication and seeing it launch around the same week as my chemo started so this post, and my book launch are a tad late.

First you have to find the right stick; it can’t be too green or too fragile, for toasting your marshmallow. As to pancakes the pan has to be on medium not medium high if you don’t want to burn them. It’s been a long time since I’ve cooked pancakes; no time for that when working full-time, and writing novels and short stories, and all the in-between-stuff; fixing my own roof, urrr, I mean patching it with roofing tar, laundry, etc. etc., facebooking, reading posts, surfing the web, emailing, all the minute timesucks. And no eggs in the batter while on chemo just because I may undercook the practice flapjacks. I’m using News Hope Mills Buttermilk mix.

http://newhopemills.com/category.php?category_id=8

I’m not sure I’m ready to talk about the nightmare that sent me to the ER; maybe after I do the painting of the witch in the dream. It was a bad night.

But the terror of that dream sent me to the hospital and eventually got my diagnosis of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, which has been staged at 2. Hodgkin’s Lymphoma has a very high rate of recovery in all stages. 90%. So wish me luck. I’ve had three infusions of chemo since then and have lost my long hair and some on the top.

I can confess that I may have once made half of a perfectly toasted marshmallow but usually mine are overcooked or undercooked. I haven’t found the magic technique to get it just right. When I turn the marshmallow it catches on fire every time. My pancake technique to keep it from burning is too unstick it before it finishes and then let it cook a little longer. But like I said, medium high on my stove is too high. To be honest one of my practice cakes looked scrambled. It tasted good though sans the burned parts. 😀

I’ll post more about my progress with cancer and making the best toasted marshmallows and pancakes as I continue with my treatments.

Love,

~Ruthie~

